Types of Forests: Deciduous temperate forests

////Types of Forests: Deciduous temperate forests

Types of Forests: Deciduous temperate forests

Deciduous temperate forest. Image credit thinglink.com

ZIMSEC O Level Geography Notes: Natural Resources : Deciduous temperate forests

  • These are also known as temperate deciduous forests or temperate broad-leaf¬†forests.
  • They are dominated by trees that lose their leaves each year.
  • They are found in areas with warm, moist summers and mild winters
  • Deciduous forests consists of trees and shrubs which shed their leaves.
  • These forests are confined to the eastern part of USA and Canada, western parts of Europe, UK among others.
  • The forests consists of a mixture of coniferous and temperate deciduous trees for example oak.
  • Major uses are furniture, construction and wood fuel.
  • Exploitation is extensive as these are densely populated and forestry competes with other land uses like settlement and agriculture.

To access more topics go to the O Level Geography Notes page

By |2017-03-08T09:56:43+00:00March 8th, 2017|Notes, O Level Geography, Ordinary Level Notes|Comments Off on Types of Forests: Deciduous temperate forests

About the Author:

She holds a Bachelor of Science Honors in Applied Biology and Biochemistry from National University of Science and Technology, a Certificate in Good Clinical Practices from National Institute on Drug Abuse Clinical Trials Network, a Certificate in Leadership from Deloitte and Certificate in Chemistry Laboratory Experiments from Helsinki Metropolian University of Applied Sciences, Finland.
%d bloggers like this: