The Government System during the Federation

////The Government System during the Federation

The Government System during the Federation

The Federation’s Coat of Arms

ZIMSEC O Level History Notes: Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland:The Government System during the Federation

  • There were two departments of government, that is, the Territorial Governments and the Federal Government to separate the identities of the territories from that of the Federal State
  • Territorial Governments were separate from the Federal Government even though they did have limited sovereignty
  • Members of the Federal Government were taken from the three colonies as well as the civil service
  • A constitution to govern the federation was put in place which took into consideration the needs and rights of the two racial groups, that is white and blacks
  • Territorial Governments dealt with the day to day lives of people whilst the Federal Government dealt with bigger and more complex issues of territories, politics and economics
  • The Federation Government’s decisions always overrode those of the Territorial Government

To access more topics go to the History Notes page.

By |2017-02-26T09:13:37+00:00February 26th, 2017|Notes, O Level History Notes, Ordinary Level Notes|Comments Off on The Government System during the Federation

About the Author:

She holds a Bachelor of Science Honours Degree in Social Work from Bindura University. She has a passion for helping others and has been involved in numerous academic and social projects.
%d bloggers like this: