Chapter 7: Elections

Chapter 7: Elections

Elections Zimbabwe. Image credit

ZIMSEC O Level History Notes: The Constitution of Zimbabwe: Chapter 7: Elections

  • Elections are held for Councilors, members of Parliament, Senators and the President after every five years
  • Any Zimbabwean citizen over the age of 18 is eligible to vote
  • The Delimitation Commission divide Zimbabwe into constituencies every ten years
  • The Zimbabwe Electoral Commission is the main institution with the responsibility of the administration of elections
  • The functions of the ZEC includes:
    1. To prepare for the administration and supervision of the elections and referendums
    2. To ensure elections are held in a transparent, fair, free manner and in accordance to the constitution
    3. To provide oversight on the registration of voters
    4. To compile the voters’ rolls and registers
    5. To keep and maintain the voters’ rolls and register
    6. To appoint observers of referendums or elections

To access more topics go to the History Notes page.

By |2017-03-13T10:26:45+00:00March 13th, 2017|Notes, O Level History Notes, Ordinary Level Notes|Comments Off on Chapter 7: Elections

About the Author:

She holds a Bachelor of Science Honours Degree in Social Work from Bindura University. She has a passion for helping others and has been involved in numerous academic and social projects.
%d bloggers like this: